Postseason football honors

TORRINGTON – Seventeen local football players were named all-conference, while 10 of those 17 were named all-state in the recent postseason honors that were released last week.

Torrington was the most well represented with 11 players named all-conference and seven all-state. Southeast racked up five all-conference and three all-state, while Lingle-Fort Laramie had one all-conference player.

Lingle-Fort Laramie

Senior Gaven Niles was the lone all-conference representative for the Doggers. He made a huge contribution on defense, ranking fifth in the conference in defensive points per game, averaging 20.8. Throughout the season, he averaged 8.6 tackles per game, while racking up 17 tackles-for-loss, 5.5 sacks and a blocked kick on the year.

On the offensive side of the ball, Niles toted the rock twice on the season, but he took both carries in for a score.

Brandon Hill was named all-conference honorable mention for his efforts during his final football campaign with L-FL. Like Niles, Hill didn’t carry the ball often, with only 10 carries on the season, but he made them count, recording three rushing touchdowns on the year. He was second on the team in receiving, hauling in 34.9 passing yards per game. He had a team-high 28 receptions and accounted for two receiving touchdowns.

On defense, Hill was second on the team in tackles per game, with 6.4. He also had four tackles-for-loss and two pass breakups.

Kaycee led the way in 1A six-man East with seven all-conference honorees, while Midwest and Guernsey-Sunrise each added five. Hanna-Elk Mountain chipped in four and Hulett accounted for three. On the all-state list, Kaycee again topped the list with six recognitions, followed by Farson-Eden (four), Burlington (three), Little Snake River (three), Meeteetse (two), Midwest (one) and Hanna-Elk Mountain (one).


The Blazers had seven all-state players, with Breyden Bivens, Bryan Lemmon, Nathan Stitt and Scott Woodruff all earning the distinction on offense, and Josh Kingsley, Jake Wamboldt and Bo Moorehouse being recognized for their efforts on defense.

On top of the seven all-state players for Torrington, they had four other players named all-conference. Josh Posten, Cade Schwartzkopf, Lathen Canaday and Brandon Bennik all were named all-conference


Three Cyclones, Tanner Hort, Chase Lovercheck and Hunter Woodruff, were awarded the all-state distinction. All three spent time on both offense and defense. Sterling Werner and Brady Fullmer were named all-conference in the 1A 11-man East.

Video News
More In Sports