LFLSE second at regionals; Team qualifies 20 wrestlers for this weekend’s state championships

YODER – The Lingle-Fort Laramie/Southeast wrestling team had three regional champions and qualified 20 wrestlers – 17 boys and three girls – for this weekend’s state championships at the Ford Wyoming Center in Casper.

Wyatt Sylvester, Kaleb Brothwell and Louden Bremer brought home individual championships, while the LFLSE team finished second with 140.5 points. Moorcroft won the team title with 224 points.

Sylvester had two pins and a 15-6 major decision over Moorcroft’s Braydnn Terry to claim the 126-pound championship.

At 138 pounds, Brothwell picked up two pins and a 17-2 technical fall en route to his regional title. Brothwell got a pin in 1 minute, 6 seconds over Aidan Collingwood of Tongue River for the championship.

In the 145-pound bracket, Bremer got three pins, including a fall over Trenton Sheehan of Moorcroft in his final match of the day.

LFLSE also had two wrestlers claim third in their respective weight classes.

At 152 pounds, Jaden VanGundy won his final match of the day with a 10-9 decision to finish third. VanGundy finished the day with four straight wins after losing in the quarterfinal round.

Taylor Swartwood also finished third at 182 pounds. Like VanGundy, Swartwood lost in the quarterfinal round before rattling off three wins in a row. He capped off the day with an 11-9 win over Tadlee Isenberger of Wright.

LFLSE had four other wrestlers who reached the third-place matches but came up short.

Tiegen Thompson (170 pounds) and Colter McFarlin (220) finished fourth. Thompson was pinned in the first period by Tongue River’s Jacob Brown, while McFarlin was also pinned in the first period by Glenrock’s Max Coulter.

Gideon Boyd (106), and Lance York (160) finished seventh, while Carter Blevins (170) placed eighth. They all picked up at least one win on the day.

Despite going winless at regionals, Amon Napier (106), Mason Sorensen (120), Brayden Posten (132), William Feyereisen (138), Alec DeMarce (182), Connor Curry (195) and Emmett Coxbill (285) qualified for this weekend’s state tournament.

In the girls’ division, Molly Hasbargen (105), Lilley Lawrence (140) and Josie Houk (155) qualified for state and will eye becoming a part of history, winning a state championship at the first ever Wyoming Girls’ State Championship.

Action began on Thursday with the girls’ opening rounds. Action continues Friday when the boys’ tournament begins at 9 a.m. Friday ends with the girls’ taking center stage for their championship matches at 7 p.m. Wrestling wraps up on Saturday with action beginning at 9:30 a.m.