LFLSE duo place at Shane Shatto

Matt Adelman/Douglas Budget LFLSE’s Kennedi Blevins (top) finished fourth at 110-pound weight class at the 2023 Shane Shatto Memorial over the weekend.

DOUGLAS – Wyatt Sylvester and Kaleb Brothwell led a small group of Lingle-Fort Laramie/Southeast wrestlers at the 2023 Shane Shatto Memorial Tournament in Douglas over the weekend.

Brothwell finished second at 138 pounds. He rattled off four straight pins, with three coming in the first period before losing an 11-0 major decision to Antonio Avila of Thunder Basin in the championship match.

In the 126-pound bracket, Sylvester placed fifth. After a first-round bye, Sylvester picked up a fall and 5-3 decision to advance to the semifinal round. In the next round, he lost by a 15-2 major decision to Sheridan’s Kolten Powers to drop Sylvester to the consolation semifinal round. He lost 7-2, moving himself to the fifth-place match where he pinned Torrington’s Barrett Eichenberger in the closing seconds of the first period.

LFLSE had only two other wrestlers competing at the varsity division. 

Both Tiegen Thompson and Carter Blevins went winless for the weekend.

LFLSE finished tied for 17th out of 29 teams with 43 points. Sheridan won the team title with 231 points, while Thunder Basin was second with 189.

In the girls’ portion of the tournament, all four LFLSE wrestlers placed in the top six.

Josie Houk led the girls with a third-place finish at 145 pounds. Houk went 3-1 on the weekend, while Kennedi Blevins finished fourth going 1-3 at 110 pounds.

Molly Hasbargen (105 pounds) and Lilley Lawrence (140) both finished sixth in their respective weight classes. Hasbargen went 1-3, while Lawrence went winless.

In the junior varsity ranks, a trio of LFLSE wrestlers placed, led by Taylor Swartwood’s first-place finish at 182 pounds. He went 3-0 with two pins and a 19-2 technical fall.

Also at 182 pounds, Alec DeMarce finished third. He went 4-1 on the day with his only loss coming to Swartwood in the semifinal round.

William Feyereisen took the long road to finishing third at 138 pounds. He lost his second-round match before rattling off six straight wins to finish third.

Amon Napier (106 pounds), Mason Sorensen (126), Wyatt Gladson (138), Brayden Dykes (152), Jaden VanGundy (152), Lance York (160) and Gage Gibson (170) also picked up wins in their respective JV brackets.

LFLSE is back in action at the Newcastle Invite on Friday.